Last Curtain

Have you ever fallen in love with a poem?

Fallen in love so badly that you cannot take it off your head,

reading the same lines again and again,

And every time you read you discover a new fragrance tangled deep inside it.

Every time you read it you will be overwhelmed with joy of its beauty,

and cannot resist yourself from sharing it to others.

One of such poems is …

LAST CURTAIN written by a Noble Laureate Rabindhranath tagore.

And this is how the poem goes.

Image result for rabindranath tagore wallpaper hd

Last Curtain

I know that the day will come
when my sight of this earth shall be lost,
and life will take its leave in silence,
drawing the last curtain over my eyes.
Yet stars will watch at night,
and morning rise as before,
and hours heave like sea waves casting up pleasures and pains.
When I think of this end of my moments,
the barrier of the moments breaks
and I see by the light of death
thy world with its careless treasures.
Rare is its lowliest seat,
rare is its meanest of lives.
Things that I longed for in vain
and things that I got
—let them pass.
Let me but truly possess
the things that I ever spurned
and overlooked.

– Rabindranath Tagore

 

Words have the power to make us realize the deepest secrets of the world and the creation. This versatile poet and artist exposed the entire gist of life just in few lines.So vivid and spectacularly true.

To sum up the entire poem in a line, I would say,

Play your role on this land to posses the richness of noble intentions and deeds, because only those stay when we leave this world.

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. shankarkumaran says:

    I didn’t like Tagore’s poem. . . But I could understand yours though. I never liked any poem like that . … But in free places I felt similar emotions, when a child says, Please, when any old people bless me, or my wife’s secret words in my ears in a hurry . . . Those I thought if listening again and again and again

    Liked by 1 person

    1. great…your life and the love of people in it is a poem then…

      Like

Leave a Reply

